A Market Researcher is Born

Background:

I was born in Denver, CO to a family of travel-loving real estate developers. My formative years were when Denver had/is still having their economic boom, (Cherry Creek Denver) to be specific.

New businesses were always entering the area and failed almost instantly if they didn’t do the proper target market research. I reached high school when the economic boom of Denver truly started taking off. It was crucial for businesses to do of market research in order to be fruitful.

I’ve seen my favorite restaurants close down just because they couldn’t adapt to the outside environment and what the consumers wanted.

I grew up in the age of Scooby Doo reruns playing on Cartoon Network. In a nutshell, the shows plot follows a crime that happens and the crew solving the mystery. Uncovering something new was always key to the plot.

Since then, I always knew I wanted to do something relating to ‘discovery’.The different career paths I answered to when given the question “So… what do you want to do when you grow up,” includes:

  • Pilot
  • Detective
  • Realtor
  • Candle Salesman
  • Botanist
  • Meteorologist
  • Government official
  • “Something in Marketing”

I’ll go on to explain the “Something in Marketing”, even though I would still love to be a candle salesman.

Something in Marketing:

I didn’t know there were so many different sections of marketing. I always thought it was making advertisements like the show, Mad Men.

Up until this point in College, I haven’t really dived into the Marketing concentrated classes. I never knew there were so many various subsections of marketing. I only thought classic ‘marketing’ was living in a well lit

I eventually took a News writing course in my Sophomore year of college that changed my interest in advertising for the worst. I thought there has to be better parts of marketing.

I eventually learned about the different sections, such as advertising, sales, social media marketing, business to consumer marketing, Business to consumer marketing, PR, and eventually Market Research.

I really enjoyed the class offered the first part of my junior year, appropriately named, “Market Research and Analysis”. I thought the class was tough, but eye opening. In this class, we were assigned a market research project that I had to take leadership of, otherwise our group would’ve failed the class.

In a way, I am very thankful to my group mates. Without them, I don’t think I would’ve found out what I wanted to do as a career.

I looked into this career and really loved what I saw. I want to go into the MRX industry to uncover truth, and what consumers really want, and how to best serve them. I will go into more detail in my next blog post.

Conclusion:

Through this blog, I will explore various topics. This includes everything market research related, to breaking into the industry.

Thank you for reading my first blog post!

Let me know what you think about my blog, comment below!

Leave a Reply

