5 Things I Look Forward To In A Market Research Career.

Something I am always asked when I go back home for family events and holidays are:

“So what do you want to do after graduation?”

To which I respond, “I want to go into Market Research”,

99% of my family will then reply with “Oh that’s cool” and move on to something else.

1% will go deeper to fully understand what kind of work this is.

Explaining what market research is something that can be hard to do, the definition from Entrepreneur.com defines Market Research as:

The process of gathering, analyzing and interpreting information about a market, about a product or service to be offered for sale in that market, and about the past, present and potential customers for the product or service; research into the characteristics, spending habits, location and needs of your business’s target market, the industry as a whole, and the particular competitors you face”

Despite the long definition, this is still a very broad definition of all the steps and procedures of this whole career field. In this blog post, I will share the top five things in this career I am most excited to do.

What I’m excited for:

  1. Working with different industries in one job.

This reason is probably the strongest reason of why I want to go into Market Research. Within this career path, you are able to take on many different assignments within varying industries. One project could be about pharmaceuticals and the next could be about dog food. You never know what kind of exciting projects will come your way.

  1. Focus Groups

Leading a focus group is one of the most engaging ways you are able to interact with real people who have opinions and can make or break a potential project. You have to be able to be a leader in communication as well as integrity and honesty for a fair focus group.

  1. Survey Designing

Testing is key to finding what consumers really want. Designing a survey with absolute no errors is important for the right type of consumer based research. Testing surveys millions of times to finally make sure they’re ready for the public is a mix of stress and satisfaction I look forward to.

  1. Examining statistics

Statistics are the baseline of fact. Without statistics, we have no way of figuring out truth. Statistics are the undeniable truth that will back up our eventual recommendations for the assigned project.

  1. Giving Recommendations

After analyzing every possible conclusion of a project, this will be the final step where you utilize your communication skills and recommend what is best. This part of the process can make or break your career. Market research is an analysis of the past to best serve the future.

Conclusion:

There are many steps in the market research process. Many not included in this blog post. I am not an expert in this field and I have a lot to learn about my future career path.

Based off of what I have experienced so far, these are the top five things I look forward to doing in my Market Research career path!

Thank you for reading my blog post,

Share and comment below your favorite thing about market research!

Leave a Reply

